Home » Authors » Salman Rushdie Biography

Salman Rushdie Biography

Salman Rushdie  
Salman Rushdie – Biography
Name Salman Rushdie
Born Ahmed Salman Rushdie
19 June 1947 (age 66)
Bombay, Bombay Presidency,British India
Occupation Writer
Ethnicity Kashmiri Indian
Citizenship British
Alma mater Rugby School
King’s College, Cambridge
Genres Magic realism
Subjects Historical criticism
Travel writing
Spouse(s) Clarissa Luard (1976-1987)
Marianne Wiggins (1988-1993)
Elizabeth West (1997-2004)
Padma Lakshmi (2004-2007)
Children 2 sons
Salman Rushdie – Novels
Grimus (1975)
Midnight’s Children (1981)
Shame (1983)
The Satanic Verses (1988)
The Moor’s Last Sigh (1995)
The Ground Beneath Her Feet (1999)
Fury (2001)
Shalimar the Clown (2005)
The Enchantress of Florence (2008)
Salman Rushdie – Collections
Homeless by Choice (1992, with R. Jhabvala and V. S. Naipaul)
East, West (1994)
The Best American Short Stories (2008, as Guest Editor)
Salman Rushdie – Children’s Books
Haroun and the Sea of Stories (1990)
Luka and the Fire of Life (2010)
Salman Rushdie – Essays and Non-fiction
The Jaguar Smile: A Nicaraguan Journey (1987)
“In Good Faith”, Granta, 1990
Imaginary Homelands: Essays and Criticism, 1981-1991 (1992)
“The Wizard of Oz: BFI Film Classics”, BFI, 1992.
“Mohandas Gandhi.” Time, 13 April 1998.
“Imagine There Is No Heaven.” , extracted contribution from Letters to the Six Billionth World Citizen, a UN sponsored publication in English by Uitgeverij Podium, Amsterdam. The Guardian, 16 October 1999.
Step Across This Line: Collected Nonfiction 1992-2002 (2002)
“A fine pickle.” The Guardian, 28 February 2009.
“In the South.” Booktrack, 7 February 2012
Joseph Anton: A Memoir (2012)
Salman Rushdie – Awards
Aristeion Prize (European Union)
Arts Council Writers’ Award
Author of the Year (British Book Awards)
Author of the Year (Germany)
Booker Prize for Fiction
Booker of Bookers for the best novel among the Booker Prize winners for Fiction awarded at its 25th anniversary (in 1993)
The Best of the Booker awarded to commemorate the Booker Prize’s 40th anniversary (in 2008), winner by public vote
Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres (France)
English-Speaking Union Award
Golden PEN Award[83]
Hans Christian Andersen Literature Award (2014)[84]
Honorary Patron, University Philosophical Society, Trinity College, Dublin.
Hutch Crossword Book Award (India)
India Abroad Lifetime Achievement Award (USA)
James Tait Black Memorial Prize (Fiction)
Kurt Tucholsky Prize (Sweden)
Mantua Prize (Italy)
James Joyce Award - University College Dublin
Massachusetts Institute of Technology Honorary Professorship
Chapman University Honorary Doctorate - Doctor of Humane Letters
Outstanding Lifetime Achievement in Cultural Humanism (Harvard University)
Premio Grinzane Cavour (Italy)
Prix Colette (Switzerland)
Prix du Meilleur Livre Etranger
St. Louis Literary Award - Saint Louis University
State Prize for Literature (Austria)
Whitbread Novel Award (twice)
Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Award for Children’s Fiction
University of Liege Doctor honoris causa